Pouring Rain Before My Beautiful Rainbow

3rd week and the last three weeks reflection in Generasi Gigih.

Ilyas Perlindungan
3 min readJul 26, 2021
Photo by Pepe Reyes on Unsplash

I feel that last week, 3rd week, not went so well. But, today I have to make this reflection again for the last three weeks. I hope this reflection can help me find what makes the 3rd week not went so well. So that next week, the 4th week, will be a better experience than the previous one.

Actually, I like to write this reflection in form of whatever I think is interesting and remarkable from last week. But, for the sake of the assignment, this reflection has a structure that I have to follow. Before I start writing using that structure I would like to tell a bit about what makes I said that last week went not so well, for me.

I like being active in the class. But, being active also has its bad side. Because sometimes you made mistakes. That’s kinda embarrassing. But, what I learned is that it’s okay to be wrong and to make mistakes. You can learn from those mistakes. As this one beautiful saying goes:

“Better to jump and make a mistake than to sit there too frightened to make a move.”

— A wise man (I forgot who said this).

Alright. Formally, this reflection is divided into 3 parts:

  • How do I feel throughout the last three weeks? If I have to describe it in form of natural events what would it be?
  • On a scale of 1–100%, how much effort have I put into this program #GenerasiGIGIH? The reason why I pick that particular number and what can I do to improve?
  • If I can ask one question to my fellow participants in #GenerasiGIGIH, what is that question?

My feeling throughout the last three week

Rainbow. I’d say that ‘peristiwa alam’ that can describe my last three weeks in #GenerasiGIGIH is the process of forming a rainbow. It’s not been a beautiful rainbow yet. It’s still the pouring rain and dark-cloudy sky before the rainbow. I hope it will become a beautiful rainbow after this program.

Photo by Jared Erondu on Unsplash

Why did I choose rainbow? I think for some of us a pouring rain before the rainbow is something that maybe some are scared of. Take the frightening lightning that could also be there. Just like this one phrase that I read the other day:

“A beautiful rainbow will appear after a pouring and frightening rain. Just like you, you have to work hard to make your dream becomes reality”

How much effort have I put into this program on a scale of 1–100%

Actually I can not answer this question with a number, certainly. One thing that I am so sure about is, that I actually can do more (put more effort). But, if I have to pick a number I’d say 78%. It’s been sleeping at 12 in the midnight, yes. Wake up at 5 am in the morning, yes. But still, there are times that actually I can use to learn instead I use it for something unuseful else.

So, one of the things that I will do to improve myself is that I will use more of my spare time to learn more. Hope by that, my beautiful rainbow will appear after this program. :)

Question from me to my fellow participants in Generasi Gigih

I’ve known from the first week that most of my fellow participants in Generasi Gigih, especially Data Analyst track, are so smart and seem so well prepared for every single session.

So guys, if you read this please answer my question:

How you guys managed your time on learning outside the class and being so well prepared for every single session?

That’s all for this reflection. Thanks for reading. :D

--

--